Talking too much

Is it bad? I don’t know.

I’ve always been a talkative person, at least around people I’m comfortable with. I’ve been dubbed with nicknames by family all through my childhood of or pertaining to being so. It’s a personality trait for me; a second nature.

Wise people are always depicted as being composed, collected, self-possessed. Never talkative. Talkativeness I think has negative connotations, with garrulity. I don’t want those two qualities confused. I for one do know I tend to speak more often than not, but not in a ‘not nice’ way (at least I hope that’s not the case). I don’t know. Why do I sometimes can’t help but feel that it is ‘not nice’? Of course, if one talks a lot, the chances that they speak crap are higher than those who don’t, because well, there’s more talking happening. More chatter, more natter.

Sometimes, I’d get a whim to just stop talking. Decide that, that’s it, I’d stop being talkative. It never worked. In fact, it would be difficult. It was conscious, I’d be constantly thinking of not talking, because I’d constantly be wanting to.

I remember as a child, probably 7 or 8 years old, I was in the playground at school. We had a girl in our class, so calm and shy. She never spoke. I was jealous of that. I remember her nose was bleeding that day, she stood under the shade with tissues fiddling around under the shade. I remember looking at her and thinking ‘I want to be like that’. I don’t know why I thought that talking was such an incompetence.

Maybe because it is. I digress too much.

2 thoughts on “Talking too much

  1. Ha. I was that girl when I was a child, and I always wanted to be the person who talked, who wasn’t afraid of voicing their opinion, and who cares if the other people agreed or not? I wasn’t quiet because I was “self-composed” or any of those things. It was because I didn’t want people to think I was dorky or didn’t know what to say or felt like I didn’t have anything to say that was worthwhile. (What’s worthwhile to a 7 or 8 year old? I dunno). Now I talk when I want to, and stay quiet when I have nothing to say… but more often I feel like I err on the ‘talking too much’ side. But I’m okay with it. I don’t think there’s a ‘right’ or ‘wrong’ way to be anymore 🙂

  2. I can be both a talkative and quiet person. And I don’t mind either. My talkativeness comes, rather, from my outgoingness; which makes it easy for me to be in a group of people that I don’t know that well. I’m USUALLY known as the loud one, the funny one, the one always ready to cause a ruckus and be a hooligan.

    There are some times, however, that I’m quite quiet. Usually, it happens when I’m with someone I particularly care for, such as my boyfriend. I’d be happy to just sit there, quiet, and let him do all the talking, so I can just listen…but then sometimes I get excited over something and end up going on a rant about it!

    So, I guess all this is me saying that being very talkative is NOT a problem. You could be entertaining people around you, and making quieter people much happier by doing all the talking. You know? Appreciate your gift!

Leave a Reply

